Vegan MoFo 10: Gluten-Free Pumpkin Power Granola with Buckwheat

If you’ve done even a mere skim of my blog, you’re familiar with my affection toward the Ezekiel brand, mainly their golden flax granola and sprouted grain tortillas. However, after recently embarking on a gluten-free diet (which has been going incredibly well and has substantially cleared up my frequent digestive issues, thank you very much!), I had to bid adieu to my favorite whole grain breakfast and lunch staples. The break-up ended sorrowfully, for I deeply appreciate the great health benefits of sprouting beans and grains, but the wholesome blend of wheat, barley, soy beans, lentils, spelt and millet does not qualify as gluten-free. But hey, if it keeps my tummy happy, it keeps me happy.

I must say, however, that finding a gluten-free granola proved ridiculously difficult, even at my favorite health food store, the Willy Street Coop. Most of their oat-based granolas, like those from the local Nature’s Bakery Coop, do not feature gluten-free oats, while all of the cereals advertised as gluten-free, such as the Arrowhead Mills brand, contained sweeteners and flour—not the way I want to healthfully start my day! I soon realized my silliness in hunting down the perfect brand of gluten-free cereal and admonished myself for not simply concocting my own recipe in the first place.

 

While many granola recipes use nuts, dried fruit, and too much oil and/or sweeteners for my taste, I kept my version to the bare minimum: a mixture of gluten-free oats and buckwheat, a dash of date syrup, a mere tablespoon of olive oil, canned pumpkin for added moisture as well as flavor, and a blend of my favorite three power seeds (flax, chia, and hemp). I always serve my granola stirred into a heaping bowl full of green smoothie, which accounts for far more servings of fruit than a couple raisins poking out from beneath the oats, and I prefer to add my nut of choice (which depends on my mood that day) separately. You could certainly add any chopped nuts, coconut, or dried fruit (stir into the granola after it has cooled), that you like to this recipe.

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Power Granola with Buckwheat (Gluten Free, Soy Free)

Makes about 8 cups.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups raw buckwheat groats
  • 4 cups gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup date syrup (can substitute any natural sweetener of choice. Read about why I prefer date syrup here.)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp powdered ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt (yes…use the salt! The granola truly needs it. This is an exception to my seldom-broken “no added salt” rule.)

Preheat the oven to 300°F.

Mix the dry ingredients (buckwheat through chia seeds), together in a large bowl. In a smaller separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients (pumpkin through salt), together. Pour the wet over the dry and stir well until everything is nicely moistened.

 

Spread the mixture onto two baking sheets in a single, even layer. Bake for 40 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes to ensure even browning. Store in the refrigerator.

Serve this granola with soy or almond milk, fresh fruit, or stirred into a smoothie.

Recipe featured on Health Freak Food.

Comment Provoking Questions: Do you make your own granola? If not, what is your favorite brand of cereal/granola? Do you prefer dried fruit and lots of nuts in your granola?

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 10: Gluten-Free Pumpkin Power Granola with Buckwheat

    • Thanks, Liz! You should for sure try it–nothing’s better than homemade granola. I can’t believe I let myself go that long without making my own, it’s been like a year now! Shame on me.

Leave a Reply

