Christmas Tree Socca

This Wednesday, the skies unleashed their first bout of solid precipitation onto the unsuspecting Madisonians. Not even slightly ashamed to admit my avid hatred of all things frozen, white, fluffy, and swirling toward the ground, I immediately ventured briefly through the five stages of grief. Denial: “No, no! I won’t look out the window because it’s NOT SNOWING.” Anger: “How dare the weather decide that it would start snowing in November! When I lay my hands on that intangible force, why I oughta…” Bargaining: “Fine. If it’s snowing today, then I’d better not see any snow come March. Okay? You hear me, sky?!?” Depression: “Oh, woe is me! Doomed to five cruel months of cold, snow, and a grey firmament…why cannot mine life meet its sweet end ere winter’s icy fingers encircle mine entire soul?” Acceptance: “You win, weather. It’s snowing. Better drag the ol’ holiday spirit out of the closet.”

Thus, with the first snowfall comes my first taste of the holidays. And by first taste…of course I mean first taste. Embarking on a one-night hiatus from Thanksgiving preparation (both mental and in the form of menu planning), I skimmed over the November family meal and arrived right in the midst of a classic yuletide tradition: decorating the Christmas tree. No, I didn’t journey into the wilderness to hack down my own Douglas Fir. Instead, I baked up a pan of socca.

Not intentionally yearning to recreate Christmas in the form of a chickpea pancake, my culinary holiday adventure began with a craving for socca paired with a desire to finish off a bag of spinach and utilize some freshly roasted beets. The creation that I pulled from the oven, however, morphed into a winter wonderland reminiscant of unwrapping presents on Christmas morning. Allow me to elaborate: The tinsel-like caramelized onions entwine the green socca pine needles as the golden beet lights shine through their branches, bejeweled with the burgundy-red beet ornaments.

The flavor, however, does not inherently represent yuletide cheer, as I did not fathom the socca’s holiday nature while choosing the ingredients. Nonetheless, the classic combination of dill and beets complemented by the sweet caramelized onions creates a lovely filling for the green socca, which actually tastes nothing of the generous amount of spinach introduced into the batter. I also slightly increased the ratio of water to flour to create a more custardy texture that I’ve come to prefer after tasting YumUniverse’s Savory Pumpkin Socca with Cashew Cream. If you like your socca on the breadier side, reduce the amount of water to a single cup.

Dilly Christmas Tree Socca with Beets and Spinach (Gluten Free, Soy Free, Nut Free)

Makes one 9″ pan.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2-3 oz spinach
  • 1/2 cup fresh dill
  • 1 red and 1 golden beet, roasted and neatly cubed (To roast the beets: trim off the top and bottom, wrap each one individually in aluminum foil, and stick in a 400°F oven for about 45 minutes or until fork-tender.)

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Heat a teaspoon of the oil in a small non-stick pan over medium heat. Lightly saute the onions for about 10 minutes, until they just begin to brown, then turn the heat all the way down to low and cook, without stirring, for 20-30 minutes, or until golden brown and very tender.

Meanwhile, combine the garbanzo bean flour, water, spinach, and dill in a blender and puree until smooth. Set aside.

When the onions have finished cooking, drizzle the remaining 2 teaspoons of oil in a 9″ round baking dish. Layer on the onions and evenly space the beet cubes on top of the onions. Pour on the spinach batter, taking care not to move the beets around too much, and bake for 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow to sit for about 5 minutes before cutting so it can firm up a bit.

Recipe submitted to Wellness Weekend, Simple and in Season, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays, and December Blog Hop.

Meal Checklist: Protein—chickpea flour. Whole Grain—not needed when devouring an entire pan of socca. Vegetables—beets and onions. Leafy Green—spinach.

Local Ingredients: Onions from Jones Valley Farm, spinach from Snug Haven, beets from Driftless Organics.

Comment Provoking Questions: Are you in the holiday spirit yet? What are you planning for Thanksgiving? What are your favorite holiday flavors?

Until next time, Ali.

15 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Socca

    • Seriously, get into that kitchen and bake up some socca! I’m surprised a seasoned vegan blogger like you hasn’t already taken on the pivotal culinary experience. :D I look forward to reading about your first socca experience. Thanks!

    • Glad to give you new ideas! You could probably make socca any color, really, by blending various ingredients into the batter. Beets for red, blueberries for purple, pumpkin for orange, etc.

  1. Pingback: Simple and in Season Fabulicious Food! Winter Recipe Round Up Seasonal Produce | Fabulicious Food

  2. I’ve not heard of a socca before, but I already love the sound of it! and the look of it! just look at that sparkling green!

    oh, and really glad to have foudn your blog (: I work at the farmers’ market here in London, and am always inspired just by looking at the fresh array of produce they have each week (:

    • I guarantee that once you take that first bite of socca, your life will change forever! Seriously–it’s epiphany invoking.

      Thanks so much! I’m honored to have a reader from London. I visited the city about 3 years ago and would absolutely love to return.

  3. Dear Ali,
    recently I developed a red-pea recipe similar to socca: http://leckerbiss.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/delicious-mediterenean-style-salty-pancakes-a-recipe-containing-sweet-lupines/
    the recipe contains lupine flour as well. For me, it is a very intriguing but difficult ingredient (I don’t have an oven, but lupine flour is good for backing). If you ever have the time to make up some (non raw – I don’t like it raw) recipes for lupine flour, I would be really intrigued to learn them!
    Thank you for this variant of socca – one of my favourite dishes :)
    Best
    LeckerBiss

      • lupine flower is made from sweet lupines (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lupin_bean) – originally they were mainly eaten in the mediterrenean. But, they are gaining grounds in Northern Europe as a supposedly local alternative to soybeans. Without the sweet lupine flower you cannot make socca out of the red lentils. The texture of pure red lentil pancakes would be to sticky (in contrast chickpea socca is kinda fluffy). The other way around (lupine flower is difficult to process just on its own) is true, too.Moreover, I do not have an oven :(, so I am always looking for recipes where you can make legumes edible by frying them etc… I also tried making chickpea socca just by frying but it turned out to be difficult… Can you give me a tip? :)

Leave a Reply

