From Humble Blogger to Harmony Valley Newsletter Contributor

Direct link to my feature in the Harmony Valley newsletter here.

Since the onset of my fierce passion for local, organic produce and my utter adoration of the farmers market, Harmony Valley Farm in Viroqua, WI has continually earned a coveted spot on my list of favorite farms thanks to its wide array of consistenly stunning fruits and veggies, as well as its impressive selection of unique crops (Burdock root? Yukina savoy? Nastursium blossoms? Crosnes? Ramps? French orange cantaloupe? Harmony Valley’s gotcha covered).

The Harmony Valley stand at the summer farmers market.

Thus, you can surely imagine my overwhelming state of sheer excitement (think back-flipping over my desk chair) after reading an email from Harmony Valley offering me a position as a feature contributor to their weekly CSA newsletter. Every week, Farmer Richard and his team select a vegetable of particular interest among the bounty of produce that CSA members will recieve in their box. I then write a short yet informative summary (a crash-course, if you will) of the vegetable, including how to prep it for cooking, how to store it, its origins, culinary uses, flavor pairings, and other little-known facts. In addition to the summary, I also provide two tantalizing recipes, original or adapted, that utilize the vegetable of choice as a key ingredient.

A sample summer CSA box from Harmony Valley.

Getting paid to extol the virtues of veggies and impress CSA members with flavorful vegan recipes? I couldn’t ask for a better summer job. I would also consider my vegetable feature in the newsletter as a mild form of vegan outreach, since all of the recipes I provide will obviously contain no animal flesh or secretions, and will obviously taste so utterly amazing that all of Harmony Valley’s CSA members will immediately cease to consume these products…maybe. Certainly, though, they’ll be exposed to healthy, plant-based recipes—seeds of change, at the very least!

Anywho, if you’d like to read my first veggie feature on the ever-intriguing and always delightful fennel in the June 22-23 Harmony Valley newsletter, please visit this link! Special thanks to Laura at The First Mess, from whom I adapted two recipes for the feature—her Grilled Fennel and Quinoa Salad as well as her Fennel and Carrot Slaw with Orange, Olives, and Dill.

Stay tuned for my feature in next week’s newsletter, with which I’ll captivate the Madison CSA community thanks to my intriguing prose on sweetheart cabbage. You can also check out Harmony Valley’s blog.

Until next time, Ali.

5 thoughts on “From Humble Blogger to Harmony Valley Newsletter Contributor

  1. Congratulations! That sounds like a wicked job. :) Look forward to seeing how you work with all the seasonal produce. :) Although I haven’t posted it yet, I made a great butternut squash and chickpea soup with fennel. Makes a lovely mirepoix. :)

    • Thanks, Janet! I’m super happy about it.

      And that soup sounds absolutely lovely! I haven’t been able to get particularly excited about soup recipes thanks to the hot weather, but I’ll certainly keep the recipe in mind for the cooler months…which I don’t want to think about right now. :D

Leave a Reply

