Rosemary Plum Ice Cream

This post does not relay my Wednesday eats as per usual seeing as my meals consist mostly of uninspired blends of pureed mush due to the painful recovery from my wisdom teeth removal. Instead, I’d like to present you with a tantalizing end-of-summer recipe for ice cream, one oft he few foods I can still enjoy with a tender mouth, featuring August’s jewel-toned plums.

The impetus for the flavor combination of this ice cream stems from Golubka’s Rosemary Plum Crumble, which disappeared after all of four seconds on the dessert table of a non-vegan potluck I recently attended. Hoping to recreate the crumble’s wild success in creamy frozen form, I again combined the plum’s tart succulence with the rosemary’s savory piney flavor for a decidedly sophisticated, not overly saccharine summer treat.

As I do not enjoy the luxury of an at-home ice cream maker (nor do I see the need to invest in one), I’ve provided instructions for two different methods of how to prepare this recipe without the aid of a counter-crowding appliance—except for a blender, of course.

Rosemary Plum Ice Cream (Soy Free, Oil Free, Low Sodium)

Makes about 4 cups.

Ingredients:

1 cup small ripe plums, pitted and quartered
1 small frozen banana, sliced
1/3 cup cashews or macadamia nuts (if you have a powerful blender, soaking is not necessary)
3 dates, pitted and chopped
2-3 tbsp fresh rosemary
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 14-oz can of coconut milk (both lite and regular are fine)
1/2 cup nondairy milk (I used homemade almond milk)

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and puree until very smooth.

Ice Cream Machine Method: Pour the pureed mixture into an ice cream maker and churn according to the maker’s instructions. Transfer to a container and store in the freezer.

Non-Ice Cream Machine Method: Pour the pureed mixture into a large Tupperware container, a deep baking dish, or a stainless steel bowl and place inside the freezer. After 45 minutes, remove the mixture from the freezer and stir it vigorously with a spatula or whisk, breaking up any frozen sections. Return the mixture to the freezer, stirring vigorously every 30 minutes for about 2-3 hours, or until the mixture is completely frozen. Store in the freezer. With this method, you’ll have to thaw the ice cream for at least 10 minutes before serving.

An alternative non-ice cream machine method is to pour the pureed mixture into an ice cube tray and freeze completely. When you’d like to enjoy a bowl of ice cream, pop a couple of the frozen cubes out of the tray and blend in a food processor until creamy.

Local Ingredients: Plums from Carandale Farm, thyme from my backyard herb garden.

Recipe submitted to Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Wellness Weekend, Healthy Vegan Fridays, and Gluten Free Fridays.

Comment Provoking Questions: Have you gotten your wisdom teeth removed? What did you eat during your post-surgery experience? Which savory herbs do you like to combine with fruit?

Until next time, Ali.

18 thoughts on “Rosemary Plum Ice Cream

  1. What an amazing recipe Ali, I love it! Plus the photos are stunning. I accept your offering instead of the usual wiaw fare :)

    I completely sympathize with post-wisdom teeth removal. I think I was 14 when I got mine taken out, so it was a while ago I dealt with it (oh my, almost 10 years…I feel old lol). But I was so sick and couldn’t keep anything down for a while. Then when I wanted to eat it all had to be liquefied. Hopefully you are almost done healing!

  2. I love ice cream made with coconut milk so this looks amazing. I just made roasted strawberry and rosemary coconut milk ice cream from the Katie Did Blog, which was delicious! Thanks for the ice cream maker-free instructions – I don’t have one either!

    • Ooh, I know exactly the roasted strawberry ice cream you’re talking about and have been dying to try it. So glad you like the looks of this recipe and that you appreciate the non-ice crem maker instructions.

  3. Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays recipe party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! :) YAY! Thanks for helping us build a wonderful Gluten Free Community! Its great to connect! See you next Friday! Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  4. I feel your pain; I just had my wisdom teeth removed in July and my face was swollen for a month! While I was recovering I ate enough vegan ice cream and (luke warm) soup to last a lifetime.

  5. Pingback: Vegan Strawberry Ice Cream (No Ice Cream Makers Required!) | my sleepy kitchen

  6. Pingback: Rosemary Plum Ice Cream | Ice Creamed

Leave a Reply

