Vegan MoFo #21: Odds and Ends

A bit of an amalgamation of vegan-related topics, this post.

I’d first like to point you toward my latest article in the Vassar campus newspaper, the Miscellany News, in which I offer a guide to the numerous apple varieties in the Hudson Valley as well as a recipe for 5-ingredient apple pie (recently featured as the most popular submission over at Healthy Vegan Fridays, hosted by the lovely Gabby, Carrie, and Shelby!).

Second, this morning I experimented with implementing frozen cranberries in my smoothie for the first time, most likely inspired by the autumnal weather and the nearing prospect of Thanksgiving. Adding an earthy chiogga beet to the blender masked the cranberry’s tart sweetness, but my next smoothie will highlight the little red gems’ flavor, mark my words. If any of you have yummy cranberry smoothie recipes, I’d love to hear them!

Finally, I intend to engage in a healthy dose of vegan cooking madness this weekend—a pasttime I’ve sorely missed since commencing the whirlwind of college. Saturday will begin, as per usual, with a batch of fresh fruit-sweetened granola featuring Jonagold apples. Later that day, my lovely friend James and I will meet to cook a fabulous Thai dinner of The Tomato Tart’s Green Curry with Spicy Sweet Brown Rice Balls.

Photo credit to Sabrina at The Tomato Tart.

Sunday’s recipes include homemade vegan Junior Mints a la Cara of Fork and Beans to send to my recently-turned-nineteen buddy at Macalaster College, whose favorite candy has long since involved the (not usually vegan) chocolate-coated mini peppermints. I’m confident she’ll enjoy the compassionate version even more.

Photo credit to Cara at Fork and Beans.

To celebrate yet another birthday, this time for my dear across-the-hall dormmate, I look forward to recreating Amie Sue’s (get ready…) Infused Chai Pumpkin Spice Fudge Bars with Maple Pumpkin Butter Frosting. Yeah. I know.

Photo credit to Amie Sue at Nouveau Raw.

I hope you all can fill your weekends with a plethora of vegan goodies, as well! To conclude, I’ll leave you with a couple photos of a rather spooky, quite intriguing hollowed tree I discovered today after class.

 

Happy Vegan MoFo!

Until next time, Ali.

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #21: Odds and Ends

Leave a Reply

