Granola of the Week #5: Figgy Pudding-Gingerbread Granola

Since last week I opted to experiment with Nouveau Raw’s recipe for Pumpkin Caramel Cereal to serve as the topping for my morning smoothie, the blog has taken a lengthier-than-preferred hiatus from its regular Granola of the Week series. However, this week’s absolute gem of a recipe will surely make up for the series’ absence, due to its deeply aromatic, warmly spiced, wrap-you-in-a-bear-hug comforting nature. With inspiration left over from the holidays, during which I seldom emerged from the kitchen due to the frenzy of baking in which I engaged, I generously flavored this granola with gingerbread spices and my two secret, magical ingredients for concocting the most mouthwatering baked goods: almond and maple extracts. Paired with the succulence of sweet potatoes and the fruity decadence of dried figs, this granola reminds me of the flavor explosion that would ensue if the traditional holiday treats of figgy pudding and gingerbread cookies body-slammed each other. Mmm…holiday dessert-themed martial arts…

sweet potato gingerbread granola (5)

Ingredients: 1/2 of a large roasted sweet potato, 2 medium honeycrisp apples, 5 large calmyrna figs, 1 tbsp melted coconut oil, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1 scant tsp almond extract, 1 tsp maple extract, 2 cups gluten-free rolled oats, 1 cup raw buckwheat groats, 3/4 cup flaxseed meal, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup sunflower seeds.

sweet potato gingerbread granola (1)

Submitted to Foodtastic Fridays, Healthy Vegan Fridays, and Wellness Weekend.

See my recipe for fresh fruit-sweetened granola for more specific granola-making directions.

Until next time, Ali.

12 thoughts on “Granola of the Week #5: Figgy Pudding-Gingerbread Granola

  1. Yum! I love adding pumpkin pie spice into my morning smoothies, but I love gingerbread, too. I’ll have to attempt this granola when I can get my hands on some raw buckwheat groats!

    • Mmm, that sounds like a lovely smoothie addition! If you don’t want to wait to get buckwheat groats, you could simply use more oats, millet, or puffed brown rice cereal.

Leave a Reply

